Genie Lamp Cookie Tutorial

This was my largest single cookie order yet.  Two hundred genie lamp cookies, each individually bagged and tied with decorative twine. Maybe I’m slow, but I baked and piped and wrapped for three days straight and 3 days later, my right hand is still sore.

My customer’s daughter got the lead role in the local Aladdin Musical.  She would be playing the Genie.  Her mom said that it is customary for the family of the actor in a lead role to give something to the rest of the cast and crew.  So she ordered 200 Genie Lamp cookies.

Finished Cookie

Here’s how I made these cookies:

You will need:

  • Your favorite sugar cookie recipe
  • Your favorite royal icing recipe in three colors – gold, regal purple, and sky blue.
  • Genie lamp cookie cutter
  • Pearl dust
Outline and flood the cookie.

Outline and flood the cookie.

Outline the cookie in gold royal icing, then flood.  Let dry.

217 cookies flooded and ready to decorate.

217 cookies flooded and ready to decorate.

Here’s my table full of trays of flooded cookies ready to decorate.  I couldn’t even fit all of the trays on the table.

“Well, Mara, if the order was for 200 cookies, why did you make 217?”, you ask.  The answer is because I always make between 5% – 10% more cookies than the order calls for, especially if the shape is easily breakable.  Cookies break or maybe I make a boo boo that I just can’t fix.  This is my insurance.

“What do you do with the broken cookies and the cookies with the mistakes on them, Mara?”  I’m glad you asked.  I used to feed them to my husband and kids.  They used to fight over them.  But they’ve eaten so many mistakes these last few years that they are tired of them.  However, their hungry teenage friends are not tired of them.  Nor is my grandson tired of them.

Anyway, back to the tutorial.

Pipe on purple detail.

Pipe on purple detail. Then pipe on the gold swirlies.

My next step is to pipe on the purple base and lid.  Once dry, I piped on the swirls with piping consistency gold icing.

Pipe on blue detail.

Pipe on the blue knob.

In retrospect, I think it might have been better to add the blue knob before piped on the gold swirls.  But I guess it’s really six of one and half a dozen of the other.

Pipe on the final blue and purple detail.

Pipe on the final blue and purple details.

Once the blue knob was dry, I piped on the blue dots and the purple dot on top of the knob with piping consistency blue and purple icings.  Done.

Before I bagged these cookies, which took my daughter and I about 2 1/2 hours to do, I brushed each cookie with a little bit of pearl dust for that extra touch.  I do this with most of my cookies.

I’d like to thank my dedicated employees for their help in getting these large orders done in time.  Especially, my daughter, Hannah, chief of packaging, and my husband, Gary, who lists his second occupation on Facebook as “Chief Dishwasher”. Heeheehee!

Leave a Reply

