Turkey and Pumpkin Pie Cookies for Thanksgiving – a tutorial

I absolutely love Thanksgiving.  It has all of the best parts of Christmas with none of the stress.

I’m not knocking Christmas.  It’s a beautiful holiday, but it has become so commercialized.  I often feel that if my house is not perfectly clean and decorated, I have failed.  If I haven’t purchased the perfect gift for everyone on my list, wrapped carefully and under the tree weeks before December 25th, I have failed.  If I haven’t baked a multitude of treats and packaged them up and sent them off to far away friends and family just hours before December 25th arrives and with absolutely no breakage, I have failed.  And I must confess that I am often at a loss as to what to give to some people, like my husband, or my oldest daughter, Stephanie.  My house is never perfectly clean and decorated.  And I am usually wrapping presents and helping Santa with the stockings until 3 a.m. on Christmas Eve.

But enough about Christmas.  Thanksgiving is tomorrow.  I will be spending a glorious day with my husband, my 4 children, my son-in-law, and my two grandchildren.  There is nothing I’d rather do.

I made these Thanksgiving Cookies for my daughter.  She signed up to bring cookies to her Wind Ensemble class on the Friday before Thanksgiving break.  Her classmates encouraged her to sign up because I am famous for my cookies with the band kids at Dana Hills High School.  I made extras for the teachers, my friends, and my family.

Roasted Turkey Platter Cookies and Pumpkin Pie Cookies

Roasted Turkey Platter Cookies and Pumpkin Pie Cookies

Pumpkin Pie Cookie Tutorial

You will need:

  1. Your favorite sugar cookie recipe
  2. Your favorite royal icing in pumpkin, crust, and white colors
  3. Icing tips and pastry bags or icing bottles

These cookies are inspired by my favorite cookie blogger, Sweet Sugarbelle, at http://www.sweetsugarbelle.com/2013/09/mini-pumpkin-pie-slice-cookies/.

Instead of mini cookies, I wanted full size cookies, so I used an 8 inch cake pan to make an impression in the dough, then I used a pizza cutter to cut the circle and the “slices of pie”.  I cut 8 “slices” out of each circle.

After baking the cookies and letting them cool, outline and flood them with pumpkin-colored royal icing. I followed Sugarbelle’s instructions and used equal parts of tulip red and egg yellow with a little warm brown.  The color was perfect.

Outline and flood the pumpkin pie "filling".

Outline and flood the pumpkin pie “filling”.

Once the pumpkin icing is dry, pipe on the “crust”  with stiff consistency crust-colored icing, using a #101 tip with the thin side up, starting at one end and working your way to other end and piping in a continuous “M” shape.  Sugarbelle suggests using ivory with a little warm brown.

Pipe on the crust with a #101 tip.

Pipe on the crust with a #101 tip.

Finally, use a star tip to pipe stiff consistency white icing onto the cookie for the whipped cream.  I used a #18 tip.

Pipe on the "whipped cream" with a #18 tip.

Pipe on the “whipped cream” with a #18 tip.

Your cookie is done.  Yum!

Roasted Turkey Platter Cookie Tutorial

You will need:

  1. Your favorite sugar cookie recipe.
  2. Your favorite royal icing in a brown turkey color, leaf green, and whatever color you want for the platter.
  3. A roasted turkey cookie cutter.  I got mine from Cheap Cookie Cutters here – http://www.cheapcookiecutters.com/products/baked-turkey-cookie-cutter.
  4. Food color markers.

After baking the cookies and letting them cool, outline and flood the body of the turkey.  I used chocolate brown with a little egg yellow and I was pleased with the color.

Outline and flood the turkey body.

Outline and flood the turkey body.

Once completely dry, draw on the legs and the wings with a food color marker.  You can also pipe on the platter now if you’d like.  I used sky blue for the platter.  You can use any color you’d like.

Add the platter in any color you choose.  I chose blue.  Draw legs and wings with food color marker.

Add the platter in any color you choose. I chose blue. Draw legs and wings with food color marker.

Pipe on the legs and the wings with the same roasted turkey colored icing.

Outline and flood the legs and wings.

Outline and flood the legs and wings.

Once dry, pipe on the “lettuce”, using a stiff consistency leaf green icing.  I used a small leaf tip.  I can’t remember the number.  Sorry.  I piped on about 10 lettuce leaves on each cookies and once I was finished with the tray, the leaves were dry enough for me to repeat the process without the icing running together.  Repeat the process until you are satisfied with the amount of “lettuce” on the platter.

Pipe on the "lettuce" with a small leaf tip.

Pipe on the “lettuce” with a small leaf tip.

Your cookies are done.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

