How to Make Ghost Trick or Treater Cookies

I love Halloween!  It’s so much fun!  It’s the one holiday each year where you can act like a kid, eat candy and other treats, and wear silly costumes.  Halloween is the beginning of the baking season for many, although baking is a year-round hobby for me.

There are so many ideas out there for Halloween cookies.  But for me, the choice this year was clear.  I just had to make Ghost Trick-or-Treater Cookies with the new cookie cutter I got from Cheap Cookie Cutters.  Here’s the link:  http://www.cheapcookiecutters.com/collections/frontpage/products/ghost-costume-cookie-cutter.  And my inspiration came from sweetdanib.com.

They’re not very hard to make.  You can keep it simple or add lots of details.  It’s up to you.  Since I had plenty of icing colors already made, I chose to make a variety of “feet” for my trick-or-treaters.

Here’s what you need:

  1. Your favorite sugar cookie recipe
  2. Your favorite royal icing recipe in white, flesh-colored, black, orange, and whatever colors you choose for your trick-or-treaters’ shoes.
  3. Ghost costume cookie cutter
  4. Food color markers in black and your choice of colors.

Here’s what to do:

Outline and flood the white ghost costume.  Let dry.

Outline and flood cookies with white royal icing.

Outline and flood cookies with white royal icing.

Once dry, pipe on eyes and feet with flesh-colored royal icing.  Let dry.

Pipe on shoes in the color of your choice, either over the piped feet or directly on the cookie if your trick-or-treater is wearing high tops.  Let dry.

Pipe flesh colored icing for the eyes and feet.  If the feet won't be showing, pipe your choice of shoe color.

Pipe flesh-colored icing for the eyes and feet. If the feet won’t be showing, pipe your choice of shoe color.

Pipe on the whites of their eyes. Let dry.

Pipe on the jack-o-lantern trick-or-treat bag with orange royal icing.

Once that is dry, you can pipe on the black handle and the face of the jack-o-lantern.  I used a black food color marker for the face.

Pipe on the shoe details in your choice of color.  I also used a food color marker for this too when I could.

I also drew the black eyeballs on the whites of the eyes with a food color marker.

Finished Ghost Trick or Treater Cookies

Finished Ghost Trick-or-Treater Cookies

Once I was done, I decided to outline the ghost costume in white as well as outlining the eyes in white.  I also piped on arms to hold the trick-or-treat bag.

That’s it!  I think these are my favorite Halloween cookies of all-time!

Here are some of my other favorite Halloween cookies from past Halloweens:

Tombstone Cookies

Tombstone Cookies

Frankenstein Cookies

Frankenstein Cookies

Ghost Cookies

Ghost Cookies

Spider and Web Cookies

Spider and Web Cookies

Leave a Reply

