Go, Go, Power Rangers! How to Make A Power Rangers Cake

My grandson, Connor, turned 4 on August 5th, and he’s been reminding me for about six months that this year he wants a Power Rangers birthday cake.  He spent his birthday at Legoland, so we had a little family party the next day.  I think he likes his cake, don’t you?  He got the top-tier all to himself.

Connor and Power Rangers Cake

Photo by Jeff Poster

How I Made This Cake

It’s a small cake, even though it is three-tiered.  I used a 4″ x 3″ pan, a 6″ x 3″ pan, and an 8″ x 3″ pan.  I filled each pan about 1/3 full.

I used 1 1/2 of my favorite sturdy white cake recipe.  I filled and frosted it with my favorite buttercream recipe.

The fondant is homemade marshmallow fondant colored with Americolor Red Red, Forest Green, Gold, Super Black, and Bright White.  Connor’s favorite Power Rangers are the Green Ranger and the Gold Ranger, so they needed representation.  Thank you to my daughter, Hannah, for helping me color all of that fondant.  I think our hands are still red, green, and black.

I printed the Power Rangers logo in the size I needed, placed it over white fondant and traced the letters.  Then I hand cut the letters and placed them on the second layer using water as “glue”.  I painted the logo with silver luster dust and lemon extract.

I cut out “CONNOR” and “4” with alphabet and number cookie cutters.  I used a ribbon cutter to cut the black fondant ribbon on the top and bottom tiers.  I rolled out black fondant and used the bottom part of an icing tip to cut out small black circles.  Then Hannah rolled them into balls and placed them on the second tier.  This helps keep the little balls or pearls uniform in size.

I used a set of star-shaped plunger cutters to cut out three different sizes of white fondant stars to decorate the rest of the cake.

The figurines are store-bought.  I’d like to try making them with fondant one day, but Connor likes playing with the figurines after he eats the cake, so I guess that will have to wait.

Leave a Reply

